UCL Medical School

UCL Medical School (formerly known as Royal Free and University College Medical School), is the medical school of University College London (UCL). It is one of the United Hospitals.

UCL has offered education in medicine since 1834 but the current school has developed from mergers between UCL and the medical schools of the Middlesex Hospital (founded in 1746) and The Royal Free Hospital (founded as the London School of Medicine for Women in 1874).

Clinical medicine is primarily taught at University College Hospital, The Royal Free Hospital and the Whittington Hospital, with other associated teaching hospitals including the Eastman Dental Hospital, Great Ormond Street Hospital, The Heart Hospital, Moorfields Eye Hospital, the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery and the Royal National Throat, Nose and Ear Hospital.


Admission to the medical school, in common with all 32 medical schools in the UK, is extremely competitive. Prospective students must apply through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS). Acceptable qualifications for entry include grades AAA at A-level, to include at least Chemistry and Biology, and a pass at AS-level. The International Baccalaureate (Full Diploma), although less common, is also an acceptable entry qualification. Additionally, applicants must sit an entrance exam, the BioMedical Admissions Test (BMAT).


The course in medicine at UCL leads to the award of the MB BS and BSc (Hons) degrees and takes six years to complete: 2 years of preclinical medicine, 3 years of clinical medicine, and 1 year studying for the intercalated BSc degree, which at UCL is compulsory for all students except postgraduates. There is also the opportunity to intercalate a PhD, either by taking an ‘interruption of study’ directly after the intercalated BSc, or as part of the integrated MB PhD programme. The latter has been offered by UCL medical school since 1994 and allows students to be offered the MB BS, BSc and PhD degrees in eight years rather than nine if the PhD is undertaken separately.

MBBS Application

Applicants must apply through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS). The application deadline is 15 October. Late applications are not considered.

All applicants must meet the Medical School’s minimum academic standard and they must take the Biomedical Admissions Test (BMAT).

BMAT is used to assess scientific aptitude, critical thinking and written communication skills. The test focuses on scientific and other abilities relevant to the study of medicine. The BMAT is used, along with other information in the UCAS application, to help us select candidates for interview.

BMAT information for 2011 entry

The BMAT is compulsory for all UCL Medicine applicants.

The test for 2011 applicants was held on 3 November 2010.

High scores in each section of the BMAT will strengthen an application and improve the likelihood of being selected for interview. BMAT scores that are below the average will disadvantage an application.

The average scores for UCL applicants this year in section 1, section 2 and section 3 respectively are: 4.8, 4.9, 3.0 A/B. We ask that candidates to keep in mind that BMAT scores are not the only factor that we consider during selection.

Please also keep in mind that until a decision is made about an application, it is still pending and there is nothing that we could tell you by phone or email. Therefore applicants are asked to please refrain from contacting us for status updates. As soon as there is information to give you we will send it. Status checking calls/emails only take up the time we could spend assessing and processing your application.

If you want to try some practice questions and get online feedback then go to www.ucl.ac.uk/lapt/bmat

For information about the BMAT and how/where to register, consult the BMAT website at http://www.bmat.org.uk.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.